Morris Minor ShopMorris Down Under Forum Forum Index Classic Car Trader
Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search Morris Down Under Forum Forum Index

Installing larger fuse box

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Morris Down Under Forum Forum Index » Electrics, Instrumentation & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Grover27
I'm new - be gentle


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Hamilton NZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:55 pm    Post subject: Installing larger fuse box Reply with quote

I am trying to work out how to put a larger fuse box in my van rather than the 2 glass fuses. Anyone have any drawings or help on how to do this?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Ballard
valued contributor


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 2193
Location: Dubbo NSW

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I did with mine many years ago when I rewired it .
If you have an original setup you will see a cable coming from the battery via stater solenoid. (Brown / blue)
This cable goes to teminal A1 on your regulaor box then on to supply fuses
I took another cable (4mm)from here A1 through a small hole to under dash it supplys power to a set of blade fuses mounted on a hinge so they can swing down the fuses supply lights/ spotlights/ radio/ power unit for mobile phone etc etc.
If you do not want to keep it looking period and original the blade fuses can be mounted on the firewall next to existing.
Hope this helps., Red Sedan Blue Sedan Yellow Woody



_________________
" I still have all my marbles, they just roll slower "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Grover27
I'm new - be gentle


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Hamilton NZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He so far so good, but the only thing I do not understand is how the power gets to the new fuse box and then out to the ie spot light. I need an example of how this works on the new fuse box. Once the wire goes from a1 to the new fuse box how does it get power to the spotlight. ope that makes sense here is a picture

http://www.mgexperience.net/phorum/read.php?1,1162322,page=1


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grant69
moderator


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 2796
Location: Cairns Nth Qld

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You feed a wire from your regulator to the common side of the fuse panel, usually it will have 3-4 connected together for permanent power and a couple of singles for aux units. The power then runs though the fuse to your output wire to your power on the spotlights etc


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Morris Down Under Forum Forum Index » Electrics, Instrumentation & Security All times are GMT + 10 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001- 2004 phpBB Group
Theme created by phpBBStyles.com | Themes Database